On avoiding resistance and the pursuit of happiness

Here I am again, after a short hiatus.

Because of the many (scary) changes I’m about to dive into in 2017, I’ve decided to kick start my writing habit again because in all honesty, I have all the intentions of starting to live a life worth documenting (AKA worth living).

For too long, I’ve lived a life that I’ve always felt needed escaping from: whether it was from a toxic home, friendship, lover, or job; there was always something I felt needed getting away from. As this year ends I feel proud about having the courage to just say no to (almost) everything that caused me pain. I left home, ended bad relationships, and…. (ack) decided to go full-time freelance, with all the uncertainty and all.

Eckhart Tolle says it best. In The Power of Now, he says:

“The pain that you create now is always some form of nonacceptance, some form of
unconscious resistance to what is. On the level of thought, the resistance is some form of judgment. On the emotional level, it is some form of negativity. The intensity of the pain depends on the degree of resistance to the present moment, and this in turn depends on how strongly you are identified with your mind. The mind always seeks to deny the Now and to escape from it….Or you may put it like this: the more you are able to honor and accept the Now, the more you are free of pain, of suffering – and free of the egoic mind.”

So the goal is: to live a life that makes it easy for me to love the now.

On January 2017, I’ll be tendering my resignation from what I hope will be my last corporate job ever. I’ve been writing on the side for a very long time now, and I’ll be pursuing it full-time. The other goal is to have enough clients to sustain what I hope to be a year of regularly traveling, living a low-cost life by beaches and cities around Asia, waking up to something different and more exciting each day.

The first stop is to Hanoi to see my best friend, spend some time with her and see the city through her eyes. An accomplished and talented writer herself, I’ll be following her footsteps and get to spend some much-needed quality time together traveling and writing side by side. We intend to see some of Thailand and Cambodia while we’re at it, and my plans for the rest of the year include Sagada, El Nido, Bali, and who knows where next.

Thanks for all the lessons, 2016. 2017 onwards, you’re mine.

 

Leave a Reply

