One Pot Spicy Thai Noodles

I like Asian food.

A lot.

OK, I LOVE Asian food.

I’m looking at you, Thailand.

S/O goes to the Kingdom; I love everything about you. Most especially the food. The chilis, fish sauce, curries, limes, cilantro, Thai basil, crushed peanuts, ginger, hot sauce, PEANUT SAUCE.. I could go on and on. Love ya.

One of the features of Thai cuisine that I love the most is the heat. I inherited my appreciation for spice from my father. When I was growing up, I sat next to his place at the head of the dining table, and would always laugh at him as he ate so much fiery food and condiments that he’d sweat a lot during each meal. Curiosity got the best of me, and because of that my tolerance for heat today is pretty strong.

Thai food is also great because they are all bursting with flavor, but dishes are easy to make. I’ve only started cooking 4 months ago, and the cuisine is totally noob-friendly. You don’t need special kitchen equipment or fancy ingredients to produce a fantastic Thai dish. Many of the flavors used in Thai cuisine are derived from the earth: flavorful, pungent spices, herbs, and plants.

EVERYONE can enjoy them.

Anyway here’s another favorite dish that I experimented with last night. I omitted the egg because I wanted to enjoy leftovers for several days, but having an egg in there would make it go to waste quicker.  I used a mix of shiitake and sliced white button mushrooms, and also just used a tablespoon of Sriracha instead of 1.5 tablespoons. Yes I love heat, but I don’t want it to dominate the flavors of my dish.

3760c8c8-eb69-4eec-9b34-bf8620f32a8d

Also when I make this next time, I’ll use soba noodles which I couldn’t find any of yesterday, for a healthier, lower-carb version. This turned out excellent.

Recipe here. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

